sids_butterfly_3_1_greeting_card-r8d08688a62d245359999451bb3f27584_xvuak_8byvr_512

One of my daughter’s best friends, who is a distant cousin so many times removed had a baby. He was a chocolate colored, chubby cheeked little nugget . Nugget became my name for him the instant I saw him. His name was Jayden and he lived for 7 days before SIDS showed its ugly presence. I received a strange message from a number I didn’t know and when I responded asking who it was something in my heart knew. I don’t know the right words to say to her because I have never known her pain and I pray I never will. I tell her I love her and him, I try to give her comfort just by being present for her but wonder is it enough. My heart aches for any parent who has lost a child.

I didn’t realize how little I know about SIDS until this happened. Did you know SIDS is the third leading cause of infant mortality in the United States? I didn’t. Or that boys are more likely to die of SIDS than girls? I found out this and more when I researched SIDS a little at http://baby.lovetoknow.com/facts-sudden-infant-death-syndrome Educate yourself, you may find some knowledge that you can share with someone else to spare them this heartbreak or even yourself.

I talk a lot of mess and craziness about my 5+1 but the reality is they are all I have and I would be lost without each and every one of them.

