A few months ago, the day after the latest Grand was born The Boy found his way into HUGE trouble that, unfortunately, brought him to the attention of law enforcement. I had to make the very hard decision to take him to meet with officers. They determined he would face charges and took him into custody. Let me tell you, I moved heaven and earth to get him released back into my custody. He was in there 3 days and decompensated and regressed so severely that their officers were keeping me posted by phone hourly. The very first day he met with his attorney she told me she had doubts regarding his competency and if he even understood what he had done wrong. I agreed with her. They suspended going forward until he could be seen by a psychiatrist of their choosing. That took 3 months. During that time he was on GPS locator and had to be with me unless he was in therapy or school. When I tell you this has been the most challenging 3 months, I am putting it mildly. Fast forward to finally seeing their Dr and waiting a month to find out his determination. We had court yesterday. We found out that he is not competent to assist in his own defense. That means something that the DA now has to decide if they want to dismiss altogether or have him do ‘competency training” as a diversion to future incidents. The problem is that they have no programs geared to his level of competency. WTF? The juvenile court system, sadly, comes in contact with kids of varying abilities all the time. But, he is an anomaly. They don’t know what will work for him. While I am happy to know this ordeal is almost over, I am so very sad to know my Boy really doesn’t understand why what he did was wrong. I am sad because all these years we have been trying to get him to be accountable for his actions and we find out, he can’t. It isn’t that he doesn’t want to. He fucking can’t! And that honestly breaks my stupid heart.

34382040-human-emotion-and-mood-disorder-as-a-tree-shaped-as-two-human-faces-with-one-half-empty-branches-and

